Thunderbirds Are Go! episode 3 – Slow and Steady wins the Space Race.

I’ve decided to cover the new ‘Thunderbird’s Are Go’ series due to nostalgia reasons and curiosity, I was a huge fan of the old puppet Thunderbird’s show when I was a kid, so much that most of my childhood video’s show me shouting “THUNDERBIRD’S ARE GO!” because I thought it was the coolest thing ever and hey, I think it still is, the disaster music still give me goosebumps: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4mdFtE7UTo

So first of all, my thoughts on the debut episode of this reboot, it was alright, it definitely felt Thunderbird’s in spirit, the launch sequences were fantastic, we had two disasters to deal with, The Hood still looked menacing and Virgil in a mech suit, pumped my fist right in the air I did. vlcsnap-2015-04-12-22h18m12s201However, I did have some concern’s after it, not about the CGI, since I found it to be used alright, it’s more about the pacing, I felt that the show rushed into introducing most of the characters, there wasn’t any time to talk and when it was, it was only around 2 minutes during an hour episode, this was my main concern for the series, sure I understand that this show is geared towards this generation of kids but I just thought they could of slowed down. I had a few more nitpicks like poor comedy & slightly jarring CGI but overall I liked the opener.

Episode 3 is much more focused and dim’s any worry that this reboot will be failure, hurrah for SPAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACE!

The episode is focused on Thunderbird 3 & 5, Alan is sent to space collect any metal debris he finds, bemoaning that it’s less exciting than doing a rescue, however he notices that he has latched a space nuclear mine and activated it, the mine uses a camera and follows any nearby space shuttle that it finds, it is here that Thunderbird 5’s John Tracy tries to figure out the number combination to disarm this bomb, he finds the digital source but the last digit is unreadable, John most locate the original paperwork from the company building that made the mine bomb, with the help of Lady Penelope & Parker. vlcsnap-2015-04-12-22h13m39s246Unlike the debut episode disasters, this one felt more like a threat, Alan’s attempt to keep the mine from latching onto any other ship was harder than he thought, since there was multiple times that he ran into large fleet of ships, which the mine would easily target any of them, it makes for more tense scenes than the previous ones.

The dialogue felt much more natural as well, didn’t rush to explain situation’s, sure there was the cheesy attempts at humor but I actually thought some of them worked this time, from John’s commands to Brain’s instructions.

My highlight though was Parker’s break-in into the mine companies archive, he gave his best Solid Snake impression and it showed one of the best reason’s why it was a good idea to do this in CGI, it was highly entertaining to see Parker do his spy shite. vlcsnap-2015-04-12-22h21m15s22Lastly, some of the visual in this episode were surprisingly great, mainly the large fleet ones, I hope space episodes continue to be like this.

So yeah, I liked this episode a lot, I was expecting an introductory episode to Thunderbird S so maybe this is saved for next week, so I’ll see you next week reboot, hopefully you give me more episodes like this!

Leave a Reply

